Empathy

It started this week, with the introduction of a special needs child into my son’s daycare. To be fair, my son is 9 and he’s trained in karate. I don’t worry much about him physically because I have seen him defend himself better than I could defend myself. But when I drop him off into a different room at his daycare on winter break because one of his teachers is quarantined off in a larger room with the newest child because she is having a meltdown, I am forced to take pause.

I don’t know anything about this child other than the fact that she is new to his aftercare and she has special needs. But what I see is a drink spilled all over the floor, the dress-up stand toppled over, and her one-on-one teacher and this child herself thrown into their own war at 8:00 am.

We couldn’t enter the room. My son had to go into the peaceful room with all the regulars. Still, my heart went out immediately to the special needs girl, her mom, the teacher, and my son who has only been taught empathy.

When my child came home bragging about his new best friend in 3rd grade, telling me about how he was ‘special’ and how sweet and endearing he was, my heart melted. When the same child tried to reconcile me with my own best friend over our summer vacation, my heart melted as well.

He is a sweetheart. Despite the fact that his dad isn’t around. Despite the fact that he could be very angry with the world right now. Despite the fact that, coming from a broken marriage, he is supposed to be a wreck. 

I am blessed.

Why?

I will take no credit.

My son as been partially raised by his older brother who has just turned 16. His heart, his sympathy, his sensitivity, he got it all from his brother, and he is amazing. They both are. People want to say that I’ve done an incredible job by myself, but in truth, I am blessed. Completely and totally blessed.

No matter what happens in my life, I will never want for anything more than that. Two sons with hearts, compassion, and sensitivity enough to accept differences, strive to be better, and enthusiasm for humanity. It’s rare in this world, and I am blessed to be an observer and a receiver. I don’t know that I deserve it, but they make me believe. In miracles.

Leave a Reply

